Angelina M. Galiteva

Board Chair

Angelina Galiteva has been the Chairperson of our Board of Directors since 2005. Ms. Galiteva is founder and Chair of the Board for the Renewables 100 Policy Institute, a non-profit entity dedicated to the global advancements of renewable energy solutions since 2008. She is also Chairperson at the World Council for Renewable Energy (WCRE), which focuses on the development of legislative and policy initiatives to facilitate the introduction and growth of renewable energy technologies since 2003. Since 2011, She has served on the Board of Governors of the California Independent System Operator (CA ISO), providing direction and oversight for the CA ISO which operates the California electricity grid. Also, she is a principal at New Energy Options, Inc., a company focusing on advancing the integration of sustainable energy solutions since 2006. She has also been a strategic consultant with Renewable Energy Policy and Strategy Consulting since 2004.

Ms. Galiteva holds a Master’s degree in Environmental and Energy Law, a law degree from Pace University School of Law, and a bachelor’s degree from Sofia University in Bulgaria.

John N. Hatsopoulos

Lead Director

Mr. Hatsopoulos is a founder of the Company, and was a member of the Board of Directors of the Company until June 6, 2018. Mr. Hatsopoulos served as CEO of the Company until October 29, 2014 and as co-CEO through March 29, 2018. Mr. Hatsopoulos has also served as an advisor to the Board of Directors and the CEO of the Company since January 3, 2018.

Keith Davidson

Mr. Davidson joined our Board in 2016. He is President of DE Solutions Inc., a consulting and engineering firm serving the distributed energy markets. With over 25 years of experience in the energy industry, Mr. Davidson has focused on environmental technology development, feasibility studies, product commercialization, application engineering, economic analysis and market development. Prior to joining DE Solutions, Mr. Davidson was President of Energy Nexus Group and Senior Vice President of Onsite Energy Corp. He served as a Director of the Gas Research Institute for over a decade, was past President of the American Cogeneration Association, served as Chair of the National Association of Energy Service Companies' Distribution Generation Committee, and is the recipient of several industry honors. Mr. Davidson is currently active in the California Clean DG Coalition and the US Combined Heat and Power Association. He holds a Master's degree in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University and a B.S. from the University of Missouri, Rolla. Mr. Davidson has a long history with Tecogen, actively supporting new business initiatives as well as being instrumental in securing utility and government funding to support product developments, including the Ultera technology.

Ahmed F. Ghoniem

Dr. Ahmed Ghoniem has been a member of our Board since 2008. Dr. Ghoniem is the Ronald C. Crane Professor of Mechanical Engineering at MIT. He is also the Director of the Center for 21st Century Energy, and the head of Energy Science and Engineering at MIT, where he plays a leadership role in many energy-related activities, initiatives and programs. He joined MIT as an assistant professor in 1983. He is an associate fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers. He was recently granted the KAUST Investigator Award. He is a member of the Board of Directors of EuroSite Power Inc., which is an affiliated company by virtue of common ownership.

Dr. Ghoniem holds a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley, and an M.S. and B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Cairo University.

Benjamin M. Locke

Chief Executive Officer

Benjamin M. Locke was named Chief Executive Officer in October, 2014.  Mr. Locke joined Tecogen in June, 2013 as the Director of Corporate Strategy and was promoted to General Manager prior to his appointment as CEO.  Previously, he was the Director of Business Development and Government Affairs at Metabolix, responsible for developing and executing plans for partnerships, joint ventures, acquisitions, and other strategic arrangements for commercializing profitable clean energy technologies. Prior to joining Metabolix in 2001, he was Vice President of Research at Innovative Imaging Systems (IISI), a high-technology R&D company. At IISI, Mr. Locke drove the development and implementation of growth strategies for the funding of specialty electronic systems for the United States Government.

Mr. Locke holds a B.S. in Physics from the University of Massachusetts, an M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Tufts University, and an M.B.A. in Corporate Finance from Boston University.

Charles T. Maxwell

Charles Maxwell has been a member of our Board since 2001. Mr. Maxwell is a widely recognized expert in the energy sector, with more than 40 years of experience with major oil companies and investment banking firms. Since the early 1980's, he has been an active member of an Oxford-based organization comprised of present or past OPEC-country oil ministers and other oil industry executives from 30 countries who meet twice annually to analyze trends in global energy markets.

Mr. Maxwell graduated cum laude in Political Science from Princeton University as a Jadwin Scholar and also holds a BA and MA from Oxford University as a Marshall Scholar in Arabic Farsi and Middle East History.

Deanna Petersen


Since January of 2016, Ms. Petersen has been the Chief Business Officer of AVROBIO in Cambridge, Massachusetts. From 2009 to 2015 Ms. Petersen was the Vice President of Business Development at Shire Pharmaceuticals in Lexington, Massachusetts. As Vice President of Business Development, Ms. Petersen lead the development, prioritization and execution of overall corporate and business development strategies for Shire Pharmaceuticals. Also at Shire Pharmaceuticals, Ms. Petersen initiated and managed partnering, licensing and merger and acquisition activities worldwide. It is Ms. Petersen's expertise in strategic planning and business development that makes Ms. Petersen a valuable addition to the Company's Board of Directors.

Mrs. Petersen holds a Bachelor of Science in Biology from Iowa State University and a Master of Business Administration from The University of Iowa.